$450,000.00 Pro Stock Car? (1 Viewer)

The price of a *competitve* Pro Stock car would have to include the R&D necessary to get it there, not just the box of parts. Any mechanic can put one together. The difference would be where you sat when qualifying was over.

One pro mod racer told me one of his newest carbon fiber/titanium show pieces which consisted of just a frame and body with a couple of spare panels was $180,000 out f a major chassis builder's shop. It can be done cheaper, but if you have the money you can spend it.

Not being a pro stock expert, I did over hear a conversation where engine leasing from some of the more powerful providers is in the $1M range for a season for one engine. And at that price there was a waiting list.

Ness Car $95K to $115K depending on options picked.
Paint $6-8000.
Tires and Rims $3600.
Racepak $14-18000 depending on options.
Ignition $1000 with bells and whistles.
Trick Titanium Can $4200.
Transmission $7500.
Clutch $3-5000 depending on what you want.
3rd Member $4900.
Motor $65K in parts alone, the rest is Unobtainium and Cantafordium.

Letting the hammer out on a PS Car Priceless!

I'd say Warren is in the Ball Park.

wasn't it last year someone said that the new shocks being used were $40,000 a set?.. or some thing like that ???

If you think this is a bad price to pay for a pro-stock. I was talking with some old friends at Indy to field a T/F or F/C today to start a new team you need to bring 2.5 - 3.5 MILLION to the table or don't bother to come. That's initial out lay and the first season after that bring more! To the tune 0f 500,000.00 - 2.5 Million depending upon how good you want to run.

OUCH!

:D

The question asked to W.J. was how much to build a pro stock car not how much to run a team for a year. Adding up Pat's numbers I come up with $230k which seems closer to me.