FC cage padding - does NHRA need outside help? (1 Viewer)

The Counterfeiter

Nitro Member
Three interesting things surfaced today.
The first was Jim Head on the qualifying show ("I'm just a Civil Engineer" - right!). Said that after finding the actual cause of Eric's injury that his first idea was a full titanium shield, fully padded.

Second was Rob Geiger's reporting of KB and Walsh making very careful measurements between KB's helmet and current padding. In both cases, it was made very clear that padding cannot touch driver's helmet as it would transmit vibration - causing vision problems.

And third . . . we have WJ stating (parphrasing here) that "Teams may be close to disaster and not realize it." Scary - but possibly correct.

I have to believe that teams realize that although this has never happened
before, the potential exists for it to happen again. I believe I heard that NHRA has retained an outside source to investigate this. FC's will race at Houston tomorrow - after that, something needs to be done before the Vegas race.

I'm going to be very careful here - there are experts in other racing series that have a huge amount of data and experience in drivers walking away from extremely violent crashes. This IS a unique situation, but when I see drivers in open wheel cars survive without injury when nothing is left but the carbon fiber "tub", I have to wonder if it is time for NHRA to ask for help. I'm just offering my opinion - I wish I had an answer - Jim

Three interesting things surfaced today.
The first was Jim Head on the qualifying show ("I'm just a Civil Engineer" - right!). Said that after finding the actual cause of Eric's injury that his first idea was a full titanium shield, fully padded.