Cobra Jet Mustang is back ! (1 Viewer)

"The Cobra Jet is the drag racing equivalent of the Mustang FR500S, allowing those interested in NHRA sportsman drag racing the opportunity to get involved with an affordable vehicle that can compete right off the truck and run in the 10-second range".

"This is a full-fledged, ready-to-race vehicle".

Let me start by stating that no one bleeds blue oval blood more than me. I've been driving and racing Fords for about 44 years now. These two statements are a true barometer of how far the folks at Ford have their heads up their butts when it comes to NHRA drag racing.

Tell me, Mr. Wolfe, what NHRA sportsman class will these overpriced Mustangs compete in, and what ever makes you think that they're going to be able to compete "right off the truck"? Anyone vaguely familiar with NHRA racing can tell you that there's going to be a ton of safety improvements that Joe Racer will have to make before even taking the car down the strip, especially if it will run in the 10's as it comes from the factory. Or maybe they come with a roll bar and 5 point harness from the factory. Bellhousing shield? Tranny shield? Flexplate SFI approved? How about those rear axles? Driveshaft loop? Some sort of rear traction devices? Spool in the rear end? I have to admit, for the price of the car, all these things should be included, and maybe they are. I haven't seen complete specs on this car, and if I'm off base, let me be the first one to apologize. I just think it's totally ridiculous to make the statement that it will be competitive "right off the truck". I wonder what size slicks will fit in the rear wheelwells? If you're thinking Super Stock, you're going to be running against a lot of cars that have been back-halved and are running huge slicks and wheelie bars. Maybe those are an option on this factory Ford drag racer.