Spirit of Lions (1 Viewer)

Cliff

Nitro Member
There is a place in SoCalif called Price Automobilia Collection that held an event recently, to celebrate Lions Drag Strip. What they want to do eventually is to recreate the Lions starting line inside their car collection building. That would be so cool! I always wish someone could recreate the whole track, with the timing tower on the bridge; the whole 9 yards.

OK, 2 Lions stories. I actually won 2 trophies at Lions in a 1966 Ford Falcon 6 cyl, with "3 on the tree" (column mounted stick shift). Lions was AHRA then, so I studied the rule book. Ran 2 different classes that my car fit in; different events. Got the trophy cuz I was the only one in class. Hollow victory I guess, but then I had the nerve to show up in a low 20 second car..... Other story is that once I was The Slowest Car At Lions, same car. I also raced my 1971 Ford Pinto at Lions, but was 4 seconds quicker than the poor old Falcon.

They had an "invitation only" Lion's Reunion last Saturday that was spectacular!

Kind of a "proof of concept" for the future.

The current museum focus on mostly American cars, from hotrods, to racecars, to boulevard Detroit iron from the 50's, 60, 70's [all of the "street cars" are currently registered and run]! There are a number of "theme" areas [speed shop, dinner, record shop, model shop, etc.] throughout the displays that are first class!

The addition of a Lion's Dragstrip starting line and racecar expansion is in the works, along with a future "open to the public" format of some kind.

In the vast parking lot behind the building, last weekend, there were well over 30+ dragsters, altereds, funny cars, etc. that did individual "Cackles" during the afternoon and then there were two separate "Mass Cackles" in the evening.