Question for Don Schumacher (1 Viewer)

The nursery has been out of business for several years. I noticed Inland is offering it for sale.

Now this is kind of a long winded story but I worked for Gary Skiles when I graduated from HS at Hornsby's in Yorkville. Gary was the store manager and was best friends with Lindell Miller who was a chief engineer for Caterpillar. They started out in Run Tuf eliminator and graduated to Super Stock. After a couple of years with a 68 Camaro, they hooked up with some guys out of West Chicago that raced with Denny King before he moved to California.

Anyway, they began construction on a 76 Camaro, IHRA legal Pro Stock with all of the good stuff like a Lee Edward's motor, Lenco, VFN fiberglass, and a Chicago built chassis very similar to a Hardy chassis. Then came marital problems for Gary. Lindell moved to Grenoble, France to work on track type tractors so the whole deal fell apart.

Gary was born with a serious heart defect. He ran Rt.66 for a couple of years but died on New Year's Eve about 10 years ago in his wife's arms from congenital heart failure. He was really a decent guy and lots of fun. He used to have me do goofy stuff like measuring the height of Zobel's windshield to see if it was raked. I suppose Zobel was .3 faster at the time so who cares.

BTW, the first 9 second run for a Pro Stock at Oswego was Denny Offerman against some hired in Pro Stocks out of Ohio. The clock didn't register Denny's time so Bob (Doss) blurted out 9.99! Maybe he did but we'll never know.