Is There A Difference in Todays Kids? (1 Viewer)

jpee

Nitro Member
I'm over 60 yrs old.. I'm a retired cop...but have been drag racing since I was 16...

When I was 16-17 my first car was a 51 Merc flathead... I had it about 1 week and bent the shifting rods that went from the column shifter.. so I bought a "NEW" Corvette 3 speed floor shifter and made an adapter and made it work in the Merc..

Then the clutch went & I learned how to change a clutch,, I got pretty good at trannys and rear end also..

By the time I was in my 20's I was building strong running Chevy small blocks... NO I'm no Bill Jenkins, or WJ but I've worked on Comp eliminator engines, & on my Vette I've done a bit of work when needed... Now at my age I'm doing less work and more racing.. however the $$ factor mandates I Bracket race to keep damage to a minimum,, I run in the 12's and try not to break the Dana 44.

Now my complaint/Bitch or what ever you want to call it... A friend of mine who owns a large Driving School asked me if I'd help him out by teaching at the local High School.. I figured what the hell, I'm retired & I'll try doing it 4 hr a day...

I get along pretty well with the kids, but I cant get over (how can I say it diplomatically) how little these kids know about cars... very sad:(

Some already have their license, and take Drivers Ed to get a better insurance rate... some need to just learn how to drive it in a parking lot... but I have not found 1 (ONE) who had even a "little" knowledge of how an engine works..

One kid has a Acura, and told me he was gonna build it, & I asked what he was gonna do... his reply NO2 ?? This perked my interest and I'd start to chat with the boys and see how much they knew about putting a motor together.... shezzzzz I'm embarrassed to say the most experienced kid had put an Acura V-Tec motor in a Civic...

None know about timing, compression ratio, forget about cam specs. They all knew About 20" Wheels and Fart Can Exhaust systems