Had some free time, did some math (1 Viewer)

FC138fan

Nitro Member
If the goodyear tire is the weak link and the reason for not wanting the cars to go over 330, couldn't they just increase the diameter of the tire to reduce the stress on not only the rubber in the tire, but get the same bang (speed) for less RPM throughout the power train?

Some calcs, calculating the radial acceleration on a 3' tire at 330... then increasing the diameter by 1 inch I get the following speeds yielding the same radial acceleration at the tire -

+1" = 334
+2" = 338
+3" = 342
34" = 347

I realize the tire grows as it runs and so on, but the principle is the same. Bigger tire = less stress. Why hasn't this option been discussed to oblivion?

More tire, more weight, more centrifugal force on the tire. It's probably a trade off at best so why bother? Just my opinion.

There will be more stress on the driveline. Will need to change gear ratio and clutch setting.

I'm not an engineer but I think that increased size equals more rotating mass and more stress along with increased centrifical force unless the tire is radically changed.

Nick, I Understand it's because GoodYear said they won't... and anyone else that could, dosen't want to even mess with it....

If the goodyear tire is the weak link and the reason for not wanting the cars to go over 330, couldn't they just increase the diameter of the tire to reduce the stress on not only the rubber in the tire, but get the same bang (speed) for less RPM throughout the power train?